This property cries out for a ghost hunt with fixtures and fittings that date back centuries and the same décor from the last resident in the 1990s. The whole place is a competition between splendour and decay. A tatty round the edges interior gives this place an air of mystery and you get the strange sense of having wondered into a real home as it still feels occupied….. Our medium believes it still is….. The Newhailes House Ghost Hunt is a unique opportunity to step back in time and investigate this unique property. There is a tale of a murder in the spooky servant tunnel which runs beneath. Will you be brave enough to walk the tunnel alone in the dark? We are the first ghost hunters to gain exclusive late night access which makes this the Holy Grail of Ghost Hunting!
History of Newhailes House
The origins of Newhailes can be dated back to the estate, then known as Whitehill, purchased in 1686 by an architect called James Smith. In 1702 Smith got into financial difficulties and had to sell Whitehill. It was briefly under ownership of the Bellendens and known as Broughton. In 1709 the house was bought from its then owner, Lord Bellenden, by Sir David Dalrymple, 1st Baronet of Hailes. Sir David was at different times Solicitor General for Scotland, Lord Advocate, and Auditor General of the Exchequer. He should not be confused with his older brother, Sir John Dalrymple, 1st Earl of Stair, who became one of the darkest figures in Scottish history when he organised and authorised the 1692 Glencoe Massacre. The house’s new owner based his title on the existing family estate at Hailes in East Lothian, and Whitehill was rapidly renamed New Hailes, which has since become Newhailes.
Sir David quickly started work on a new south east wing intended primarily to house his large collection of books, and he also began landscaping the surrounding park. The 2nd Baronet of Hailes, Sir James Dalrymple, completed the library wing, then moved on to balance it with what became known as the great apartment wing, a north west wing designed primarily to accommodate a series of grand reception and function rooms, albeit within the constraints of producing a symmetrical building. The 3rd Baronet, another Sir David, built on his grandfather’s collection of books and became an important figure in the Scottish Enlightenment. Legend has it that the library was referred to by commentator Dr Samuel Johnson as “the most learned drawing room in Europe”. After Sir David’s death in 1792, Newhailes passed through the hands of a further five generations of Dalrymples, starting with Miss Christian Dalrymple, and concluding with Sir Mark Dalrymple, 3rd Baronet of Newhailes. Sir Mark died without heirs in 1971, and his widow, Lady Antonia, continued to live at Newhailes until it was acquired by the National Trust for Scotland in 1997.